About Us


Sometime in the late 2000s, a band of veteran youth work practitioners got together and expressed a felt need for a movement to help distinguish youth work as a distinctive practice. There was no comprehensive training programme that prepared individuals to serve as youth workers. Neither was there professional recognition or accreditation available to certify those in the youth work sector.

Discussions with relevant government agencies and focus group meetings with youth workers and leaders then ensued. In September 2011, through funding secured from the then Workforce Development Agency, Dr Trudi Cooper, a professor from Edith Cowan University, Australia, spent a few days consulting and advising on the setting up of a youth work association. In March 2012, the Youth Work Association (Singapore) was formally registered as a society with the Registry of Societies.

The ten founding members of the society are:

  1. John K E Tan
  2. Wang Kim Meng
  3. Nicholas Lim
  4. Roland Yeow
  5. Adelyn Poh
  6. Sharifah Sakinah
  7. Evina Subani
  8. Lee Seng Meng
  9. Dennis Lee
  10. Ahmad Khushairi

Current Membership Committee


No Name Position
1 Dr John K E Tan President
2 Mr Nicholas Gabriel Lim Vice-President
3 Mr Lee Seng Meng Secretary
4 Mr Sean Kong Treasurer
5 Dr Roland Yeow Committee Member
6 Dr Jiow Hee Jhee Committee Member
7 Ms Iris Lin Committee Member
8 Mr Tony Leong Committee Member
9 Ms Phoebe Ng Committee Member
10 Mr Joe Chan Committee Member
11 Mr Izhar Roslan Co-opted Member


As a registered society, YWAS is governed by a Constitution. For a copy of the document, click here.

Organizational Relationships

As part of YWAS’ advocacy aims, we are connected to other organizations, not only locally but globally as well.

NTUC U Associates
Commonwealth Alliance of Youth Workers’ Associations (CAYWA)